2012 MTV TRL Awards Rock Florence

Posted on blog.viacom.com on 08.05.12

More than 25,000 music fans gathered in Florence’s historic Piazzale Michelangelo square on Saturday night to watch the sixth annual MTV TRL Awards. With a magnificent view overlooking the Renaissance city, the adrenalin-filled, three-hour, open-air event was hosted by MTV VJ Valentina Correani and rap trio Club Dogo and broadcast live across Italy on MTV.

Celebrating the best Italian and international music and pop music culture of the past year, the 10 TRL Award categories attracted over 12 million votes exclusively via http://www.mtv.it/trlawards. Winners included KPop superstars Big Bang, who established themselves as firm favourites with the Italian crowd, winning the ‘Best Fan’ category. Justin Bieber was awarded ‘Best Look, sponsored by StudioLine,’ LMFAO’s “Party Rock Anthem” was named ‘Best Video’ and Italian indie-rockers Subsonica received this year’s ‘MTV History Award.’ Contrasting the best of Italian pop and rap culture, the night included performances from some of the biggest names in Italian music, including Modà, Arisa, Marracash, Noemi, Dolcenera, Emis Killa and Alessandro Casillo.

International performers included UK pop-R&B sensation Conor Maynard and Californian quintet Young the Giant. One of the nation’s most famous rappers and host of MTV Italy’s rap battles show Spit Marracash was presented with a gold record for sales of his album King of Rap, and dedicated the honour to one of his idols, Adam ‘MCA’ Yauch of Beastie Boys, who sadly passed away last week.

Originally derived from the MTV show Total Request Live, the TRL Awards are voted for by fans nationwide and broadcast live from a different Italian city each year. Taking place in Florence for the second time, the show is the biggest live broadcast open-air music event to be hosted in the city this year.

And the 2012 MTV TRL Awards go to…

  • Super Man Award: Marco Mengoni
  • Wonder Woman Award: Laura Pausini
  • Best MTV Show: I Soliti Idioti
  • Italians Do It Better: Emma
  • Best Band: Modà
  • Best Video: LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem
  • Best New Generation: Emis Killa
  • Best Look sponsored by StudioLine: Justin Bieber
  • Best Fan: BIGBANG
  • Best Tormentone (smash hit): Michel Teló – Ai Se Eu Te Pego
  • MTV History Award: Subsonica